The bear ate your sandwich by Sarcone-Roach, Julia (#1551SR5)

cover_image

The bear ate your sandwich

by Sarcone-Roach, Julia
Paperback Dragonfly Books, 2018

$7.99

Overview
From the Publisher
Bear meets sandwich, adventure ensues. . . . A sly classic-in-the-making for fans of Jon Klassen, Peter Brown, and Mo Willems.   By now I think you know what happened to your sandwich. But you may not know how it happened. So let me tell you. It all started with the bear . . .   So begins Julia Sarcone-Roach&;s delicious tale of a bear, lost in the city, who happens upon an unattended sandwich in the park. The bear&;s journey from forest to city and back home again is full of happy accidents, funny encounters, and sensory delights. The story is so engrossing, it&;s not until the very end that we begin to suspect this is a TALL tale.   The wonderfully told story, spectacular illustrations, and surprise ending make this Julia Sarcone-Roach&;s best book to date. You&;ll want to share it with your friends (and keep a close eye on your lunch). Praise for The Bear Ate Your Sandwich: ***Winner of an Ezra Jack Keats New Writer Honor Award!*** "This story is mischief-making at its finest. And just like a good sandwich, it's hard to resist." - Book Page "Charming" &; The Wall Street Journal "While the bear storyline is entertaining in itself, the ending twist will equally delight kids who love to spot untruths, and a second reading for hints as to the narrator&;s credibility may well be in order." &; The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books, Starred review
Reviews & Awards
  • Booklist, 01/01/15
  • Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books starred, 03/01/15
  • Horn Book Guide starred, 10/01/15
  • Horn Book Magazine starred, 01/01/15
  • Kirkus Reviews, 11/01/14
  • Library Media Connection, 09/01/15
  • Publishers Weekly, 11/10/14
  • School Library Journal starred, 12/01/14
Product Details
  • Publisher: Dragonfly Books
  • Publication Date: December 11, 2018
  • Format: Paperback
  • Edition: First Dragonfly Books edition.
  • Dewey: -E-
  • Classifications: Fiction, Easy
  • Description: 1 volume (unpaged) : color illustrations ; 22 x 28 cm
  • ISBN-10: 1-984852-09-4
  • ISBN-13: 978-1-984852-09-0
  • Follett Number: 1551SR5
  • Interest Level: K-3
  • Reading Level: 2.4
  • ATOS Book Level: 2.5
  • AR Interest Level: LG
  • AR Points: .5
  • AR Quiz: 176636EN
  • Reading Counts Level: 1.6
  • Reading Counts Points: 1
  • Lexile: AD490L
  • Fountas & Pinnell: L