Juana & Lucas (Juana & Lucas) by Medina, Juana (#1453ZS2)

cover_image

Juana & Lucas (Juana & Lucas)

by Medina, Juana
Paperback Candlewick Press, 2019

$8.99

Overview
From the Publisher
&;Refreshingly original. . . . Medina&;s beautiful, vivid prose conjures the Colombian setting with tactile language. . . . The story itself is a giant hug.&; &; The New York Times Book Review Fans of Judy Moody and Clarice Bean will love Juana, the spunky young Colombian girl who stars in this playful, abundantly illustrated series. Juana loves many things: drawing, living in Bogotá, Colombia, and especially her dog, Lucas, the best amigo ever. She does not love wearing her itchy school uniform, solving math problems, or learning the English. Why is it so important to learn a language that makes so little sense? Hilarious, energetic, and utterly relatable, Juana will win over los corazones (the hearts) of readers everywhere.
Reviews & Awards
  • Booklist starred, 07/01/16
  • Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books, 10/01/16
  • Christian Library Journal, 07/01/17
  • Horn Book Guide starred, 04/01/17
  • Horn Book Magazine starred, 11/01/16
  • Kirkus Reviews, 06/15/16
  • New York Times, 12/18/16
  • Publishers Weekly, 07/11/16
  • Pura Belpre Author Award, 2017
  • School Library Connection, 10/01/16
  • School Library Journal starred, 07/01/16
Product Details
  • Publisher: Candlewick Press
  • Publication Date: March 5, 2019
  • Format: Paperback
  • Edition: First paperback edition.
  • Dewey: -Fic-
  • Classifications: Fiction
  • Description: 88 pages : color illustrations ; 23 cm
  • ISBN-10: 1-53620-639-3
  • ISBN-13: 978-1-53620-639-5
  • Follett Number: 1453ZS2
  • Interest Level: K-3
  • Reading Level: 2.9
  • ATOS Book Level: 4.9
  • AR Interest Level: LG
  • AR Points: 1
  • AR Quiz: 185159EN
  • Reading Counts Level: 5.6
  • Reading Counts Points: 4
  • Lexile: 870L
  • Fountas & Pinnell: P