Dory Dory black sheep (Dory Fantasmagory, Book 3) by Hanlon, Abby (#1310NHX)

cover_image

Dory Dory black sheep (Dory Fantasmagory, Book 3)

by Hanlon, Abby
Paperback Puffin Books, 2017

$7.99

Overview
From the Publisher
Dory turns learning to read into a hilarious adventure through the power of imagination--perfect for fans of Junie B. Jones and Ivy and Bean

Ever since Dory met Rosabelle, a real true friend whose imagination and high spirits match her own, school has been pretty good. But now the class is learning to read, and it's proving to be a challenge for Dory. While Rosabelle can read chapter books in her head, Dory is stuck with baby books about a happy little farm. Dory wishes for a potion to turn her into a reader but things don't go as planned. Suddenly, a naughty little girl who looks an awful lot like Dory's imaginary nemesis, Mrs. Gobble Gracker, shows up. And a black sheep leaves the pages of the farm book to follow Dory to school. It really needs her help--this seems like a job for a superhero And it would help if she knew how to read.

In her third book, Dory takes reluctant reading to new heights with a story that is as one-of-a-kind and hilarious as she is.

"An especially wonderful book to share with reluctant readers...I can't imagine a book more calculated to reinforce the power of reading and becoming a reader than Dory Dory Black Sheep. It is a true triumph." --Publishers Weekly ShelfTalker

"Hanlon has a winning way with the story's characters (real and imaginary) and dialogue." --Booklist

Reviews & Awards
  • Horn Book Guide, 04/01/17
  • Kirkus Reviews, 07/15/16
Product Details
  • Publisher: Puffin Books
  • Publication Date: September 5, 2017
  • Format: Paperback
  • Series: Dory fantasmagory ; 3
  • Dewey: -Fic-
  • Classifications: Fiction
  • Description: 147, 11 pages : illustrations ; 20 cm.
  • ISBN-10: 1-10199-427-4
  • ISBN-13: 978-1-10199-427-6
  • Follett Number: 1310NHX
  • Interest Level: K-3
  • Reading Level: 3.3
  • ATOS Book Level: 3.1
  • AR Interest Level: LG
  • AR Points: 1
  • AR Quiz: 184407EN
  • Reading Counts Level: 2.7
  • Reading Counts Points: 5
  • Lexile: 610L